Three Word Wednesday, 12/8/2010

Judge nightfall safety

“I wish you’d let me walk you home.”

Mary looked at him, irritated. “I’m sure you mean well, ” she said, trying to conciliate him despite what she considered his over-solicitous behavior. “But I don’t turn into a helpless damsel just because it’s nightfall.”

“I don’t know that you’re the best judge of that.” James tried to convince her. “I’m only concerned about your safety.”

She ended the argument by closing the door.

* * *

Her heeltaps echoed off the walls of the deserted street. The rhythm changed, became syncopated, as another set of steps joined in, someone moving faster than she. Determining the direction was difficult, as the echoes made the steps sound as though they were behind her, in front of her, all around.

Mary slowed, listening, then paused, then began to run. She came to an abrupt halt when she catapulted into the man on the sidewalk in front of her.

“You should have let me walk with you,” James smiled, cutting off her scream as the knife descended, the first time of many. “I told you it wasn’t safe.”

7 thoughts on “Three Word Wednesday, 12/8/2010

Leave a Reply

