Three Word Wednesday, 6/8/2011

Alter, Fond, Tranquil

 

“Pray don’t alter yourself in any respect, my dear.”

“What’s with the bad Jane Austen impersonation, Bill?”

“Well, women are supposed to like her. I think I’ve seen you read ‘Pride and Prejudice’ a couple of hundred times since we got married. And you’re always watching that Colin Firth guy.”

“Yes, I’m fond of the books. It must have been a more tranquil time, in many ways. But that doesn’t mean I want you to turn yourself into Mr. Darcy.”

“I –“

“Stop sighing, Bill. What is it?”

“I thought you’d like it if I was a little more romantic.”

“There’s ‘romantic’ and ‘romantic’.  Pray don’t alter yourself in any respect, my dear.”

“Oh, great. Wipe that Cheshire cat grin off your face, will you? I’m never going to hear the end of this, am I?”

“Nope.”

11 thoughts on “Three Word Wednesday, 6/8/2011

  1. 🙂 I LOVE it! The banter between the two is so sweet, and…romantic. The personalities come through so well in such a short space, excellent! I like this couple.

  2. Yes, I agree with Altonian, I feel bad for Bill. She should appreciate the effort. Maybe she doesn’t want Mr. Darcy, but there’s nothing wrong with either Colonel Brandon or Captain Wentworth!

  3. Thanks so much, everyone, for reading and commenting. I’m always surprised when I see comments and realize that what I thought was obvious was read differently. Every time, I learn something new, and thank you for that.

    I was aiming for playfulness … banter between two people who knew each other very well.

Leave a Reply

